Wilson Mar bio photo

Wilson Mar

Hello. Hire me!

Email me Calendar Skype call 310 320-7878

LinkedIn Twitter Gitter Google+ Youtube

Github Stackoverflow Pinterest

Take my cloud … please


Overview

cloud platforms black icons 300x330-300-58kb.jpg

This article compares the pricing and services for various cloud services platforms: Amazon AWS vs. IBM Softlayer vs. Google Compute Cloud vs. Microsoft Azure vs. Rackspace

There are also Oracle, CloudFoundry, SalesForce Heroku, SkyTap, etc.

EDITOR’s NOTE: This is not a complete treatment. Additional information will be added over time.


Factor AWS EC2 Azure
Initial appearance 2006 2010
Granularity of billing per hour per minute
Entrepreneurial Discount - BizSpark
# Data centers 24 100
# zones 33 100
Largest server x1.32xlarge G:
Largest # cores 128 32
Largest RAM GB 1,952 GB 448 GB

Pricing

Even though cloud vendors provide a great deal of transparency to how they price their services, there are so many variables to what affects the final bill that the only accurate way is to actually run services.

Cowan analysis May 2016 (using 1.0 as average among vendors) rated Amazon 1.37 (above avarge) in prices (most expensive). Microsoft was rated the leader in price and APIs, but the lowest in support.

QUESTION: Is the comparison based on spot instances in AWS, which are of low cost because they can be taken away at any moment by someone who outbids.

Market share

Different surveys contradict each other.

Here is one:

Operating Systems in the cloud

As of May 2016, Azure works with SUSE and Oracle, but not Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL).

Amazon provides software to host whatever os is put into images. But its free server images are based on CentOS.

</tr> </tbody></table>  
## Resources # This table is an update from this site. IBM Bluemix http://downdetector.com/status/aws-amazon-web-services provides 3rd-party crowd-source status. ## More on DevOps # This is one of a series on DevOps: 0. [DevOps_2.0](/devops_2.0/) 0. [User Stories for DevOps](/user-stories-for-devops/) 0. [Git and GitHub vs File Archival](/git-and-github-vs-file-archival/) 0. [Git Commands and Statuses](/git-commands-and-statuses/) 0. [Git Commit, Tag, Push](/git-commits/) 0. [Git Utilities](/git-utilities/) 0. [Data Security GitHub](/data-security-github/) 0. [GitHub API](/github-api/) 0. [TFS vs. GitHub](/tfs-vs-github/) 0. [Choices for DevOps Technologies](/devops-choices/) 0. [Java DevOps Workflow](/java-devops-workflow/) 0. [AWS DevOps (CodeCommit, CodePipeline, CodeDeploy)](/aws-devops/) 0. [AWS server deployment options](/aws-server-deploy-options/) 0. [Digital Ocean](/digital-ocean/) 0. [Cloud regions](/cloud-regions/) 0. [AWS Virtual Private Cloud](/aws-vpc/) 0. [Azure Cloud Onramp](/azure-cloud-onramp/) 0. [Azure Cloud](/azure-cloud/) 0. [Azure Cloud Powershell](/azure-cloud-powershell/) 0. [Powershell Ecosystem](/powershell-ecosystem/) 0. [Powershell on MacOS](/powershell-on-mac/) 0. [Powershell Desired System Configuration](/powershell-dsc/) 0. [Jenkins Server Setup](/jenkins-setup/) 0. [Jenkins Plug-ins](/jenkins-plugins/) 0. [Jenkins Freestyle jobs](/jenkins-freestyle/) 0. [Jenkins2 Pipeline jobs using Groovy code in Jenkinsfile](/jenkins2-pipeline/) 0. [Dockerize apps](/dockerize/) 0. [Docker Setup](/docker-setup/) 0. [Docker Build](/docker-build/) 0. [Maven on MacOSX](/maven-on-macos/) 0. [Ansible](/ansible/) 0. [MySQL Setup](/mysel-setup/) 0. [SonarQube static code scan](/sonarqube/) 0. [API Management Microsoft](/api-management-microsoft/) 0. [API Management Amazon](/api-management-amazon/) 0. [Scenarios for load](/scenarios-for-load/) ## More on cloud # This is one of a series on cloud computing: * [Cloud services comparisons](/cloud-services-comparisons/) * [AWS On-boarding](/aws-onboarding/) * [AWS DevOps (CodeCommit, CodePipeline, CodeDeploy)](/aws-devops/) * [AWS Lambda](/aws-lambda/) * [API Management by Amazon](/api-management-amazon/) * [AWS server deployment options](/aws-server-deploy-options/) * [Dynatrace cloud monitoring](/dynatrace/) * [AppDynamics cloud monitoring](/appdynamics/) * [Build load-balanced servers in AWS EC2](/build-load-balanced-servers-in-AWS-EC2/)

Microsoft Azure Amazon Web Services (AWS) docs
Data center geography Azure Regions global infrastructure
Compute ServicesVirtual Machines (VMs) EC2 (Elastic Compute Cloud)

Cloud Services
Azure Websites and Apps
ElasticBeanstalk

Azure Visual Studio OnlineNone
Container SupportDocker Virtual Machine Extension (how to)EC2 Container Service (Preview)
Scaling OptionsAzure Autoscale (how to)AutoScaling
Analytics/Hadoop OptionsHDInsight (Hadoop)Elastic MapReduce (EMR)
Government ServicesAzure GovernmentGovCloud
App/Desktop ServicesAzure RemoteAppWorkSpaces
Amazon AppStream
Storage OptionsAzure Storage (Blobs, Tables, Queues, Files)S3 (SimpleStorage)
Block StorageAzure Blob Storage (how to)Elastic Block Storage (EBS)
Hybrid Cloud StorageStorSimpleNone
Backup OptionsAzure BackupGlacier
Storage ServicesAzure Import Export (how to)ImportExport

Azure File Storage (how to)StorageGateway

Azure Site RecoveryNone
Content Delivery Network (CDN )Azure CDN< /td>CloudFront
Database OptionsAzure SQL Database RDS (Relational Database Service)
Redshift
NoSQL Database OptionsAzure DocumentDB DynamoDB

Azure Managed Cache (Redis Cache) ElasticCache
Data OrchestrationAzure Data Factory DataPipeline
Networking OptionsAzure Virtual Network VPC

Azure ExpressRouteAWS Direct Connect

Azure Traffic ManagerAmazon Route 53
Load BalancingLoad Balancing for Azure (how to) ELB (Elastic Load Balancing)
Administration & SecurityAzure Active Directory DirectoryService
IAM (Identity and Access Management)
Multi-Factor Authentication
MFA (Multi-Factor Authentication) MFA (Multi-Factor Authentication)
Monitoring
Azure Operational Insights CloudTrail

Azure Application Insights CloudWatch

Azure Event Hubs None
MessagingAzure Notification Hubs SNS (Simple Notification Service)
EncryptionAzure Key Vault KMS (Key Management Service)
ComplianceAzure Trust Center CloudHSM (Hardware Security Module)
Management Services & OptionsAzure Resource Manager CloudFormation
API ManagementAzure API Management None
AutomationAzure Automation OpsWorks

Azure Batch
Azure Service Bus
SQS (Simple Queue Service)

None
CodeDeploy

Azure Scheduler SWF (Simple Workflow)
SearchAzure Search CloudSearch
AnalyticsAzure Stream Analytics Kinesis
Email ServicesAzure BizTalk Services SES (Simple Email Services)
Media ServicesAzure Media Services ElasticTranscoder
MobileAnalytics
Cognitor
Machine Learning (ML)Azure Machine Learning MachineLearning
Triggers Logic Apps AWS Lambda

None AWS Config
Billing? Billing